International Studies -- Africa Resources

From Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
The rapid, competitive Great Power partition of Africa during the latter third of the nineteenth century, in which formal and informal spheres of influence were converted into colonies by annexation or conquest.

Empire covering, at its height in the 1920s, about a sixth of the landmass of the Earth, all of its lands recognizing the United Kingdom (UK) as their leader.

From Encyclopedia of African History
Between about 1770 and 1880, exploration of Africa made possible accurate maps and publishable information on the continent.

From Encyclopedia of African History
Africanus completed his magnum opus on African geography, according to his own words, on March 10, 1526.

Shortly after landing at Aboukir (Abu Qir), he won a brilliant victory over the Mamluks in the battle of the Pyramids (July, 1798). His successes, however, were made useless when the French fleet was utterly destroyed (Aug. 1–2) by Nelson in Aboukir Bay.

In his autobiography and his later Miscellaneous Verses, Equiano idealized his African past, taking pride in his race yet condemning those Africans who trafficked in slavery.

From An African Biographical Dictionary
Lord Frederick John Dealtry Lugard was a British imperialist and colonial administrator who drafted the most comprehensive theory of colonialism, which became the basis of much British colonial management.

English reformer. He was instrumental in abolishing slavery in the British Empire.

From Encyclopedia of African History
King of Belgium (r. 1835: 1865-1909); closely associated with the “Scramble” for Africa, the formation of the Congo State, and Belgian colonial expansion.

1813–73, Scottish missionary and explorer in Africa, the first European to cross the African continent.

Fixed in the popular mind for his rescue of Dr. David Livingstone in 1872. Besides this feat, however, he was a significant explorer in his own right, crossing the continent and securing the Congo (now the Democratic Republic of the Congo) for the king of the Belgians.

From An African Biographical Dictionary
Founder of the Transvaal Republic; one of the leaders of the Great Trek, during which much of the Afrikaner population moved away from British dominance to establish their own independent states.

From An African Biographical Dictionary
Barnett Isaacs Barnato—financier, speculator and diamond merchant—was prominent among the White entrepreneurs who became wealthy in South Africa before the Boer War.

A trip in 1875 through the rich territories of Transvaal and Bechuanaland apparently helped to inspire Rhodes with the dream of British rule over all southern Africa; later he spoke of British dominion "from the Cape to Cairo."

From An African Biographical Dictionary
Friend and confidant of Cecil Rhodes; a leading figure in early South African politics; best remembered as the commander of a disastrous military attack against the Transvaal Republic, for which he was tried and imprisoned.

From An African Biographical Dictionary
President of the Transvaal (1883–1902), born in Colesberg, Cape Colony, SC South Africa.

From Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
A section of West African coast, now part of Ghana, named for the primary product taken from it by the Portuguese, who first reached it in 1471 and then built a fortification known as Elmina in 1482.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide
Diamond-mining capital city of Northern Cape Province, South Africa. Its mines have been controlled by De Beers Consolidated Mines since 1887.

Former province, NE South Africa.

Economic heartland of Gauteng province, South Africa. Gold was first found here in 1853.

From A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures: Continental Europe and its Empires
The Berlin Conference has often been regarded as the beginning of the partition of Africa. Yet the ‘Scramble for Africa’ started well before it.

1800–1815, conflict between the United States and the Barbary States.

From Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
The long migration of Boer families from Cape Colony to the Orange River and Natal.

From Encyclopedia of African History
After initial prospecting success in 1886, major gold reserves were considered well proven by the early 1890s.

From The Crystal Reference Encyclopedia
An expedition against the South African Republic (Dec 1895–Jan 1896), which was supposed to link up with a revolt by white workers on the Rand and topple the government of President Kruger.

From The Reader's Companion to Military History
1899–1902. The Boer War began when Sir Alfred Milner, the British high commissioner in South Africa, goaded the Boers in the South African republics into declaring war on October 12, 1899.

From Chambers Dictionary of World History
The bellicose venture by Mussolini aimed at winning popular support at home, an increase in Italian prestige and strategic gains to pressurize the British in the Eastern Mediterranean.

From Chambers Dictionary of World History
The diamond mining company formed by Cecil Rhodes in 1887 from the amalgamation of several companies operating at Kimberley, Cape Province.

Fuel substance of plant origin, largely or almost entirely composed of carbon with varying amounts of mineral matter.

A tree, its seeds, and the beverage made from them.

Mineral, one of two crystalline forms of the element carbon (see allotropy), the hardest natural substance known, used as a gem and in industry.

Gold has been known from prehistoric times and was possibly the first metal used by humans.

Type of dentin present only in the tusks of the elephant. Ivory historically has been obtained mainly from Africa.

From Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Palm oil is a local and export commodity important to the economy of southern Nigeria.