Library of Congress Law Library
- LOC- Law Library"Congress established its Law Library in 1832, recognizing its need for ready access to reliable legal materials. The Law Library has grown over the years to become the world’s largest law library, with a collection of over 2.65 million volumes spanning the ages and covering virtually every jurisdiction in the world."
Guide to Law Online: Illinois
- Guide to Law Online: Illinois"The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
The Library's mission is to support the Congress in fulfilling its constitutional duties and to further the progress of knowledge and creativity for the benefit of the American people."
Hieros Gamos
- Hieros Gamops-hg.org"HG.org was one of the very first online law and government information sites. It was founded in January of 1995 by Lex Mundi, a large network of independent law firms. The objective of HG.org is to make law, government and related professional information easily accessible to the legal profession, businesses and consumers. "
Databases
ICC login required.
- Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education - IICLE This link opens in a new windowIICLE includes access to the Online Library and Formulaw Online. The IICLE Online Library includes over 140 practical legal publications with thousands of editable forms, all searchable by keyword. IICLE® Formulaw Online provides access to IICLE's library of over 30 web-based, fully-automated forms.
FindLaw
- FindLaw"FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business, is the world's leading provider of online legal information and Internet marketing solutions for law firms. FindLaw's roots go back to 1995, when two attorneys compiled a list of Internet resources for a group of law librarians in northern California. The response to the material was so positive they decided to post the information on the Internet."
Oyex
- OyezOyez.org, a multimedia resource providing free, open access to the Supreme Court of the United States
Guide to Law Online
Dictionary
Must be affiliated with ICC to access
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781785392535Publication Date: 2011Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations. Entries include definitions pronunciations, and frequent supplementary notes.
Oxford Dictionary of Law by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780192523426Publication Date: 2018This bestselling dictionary is an authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. It contains over 4,800 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system. Now in its ninth edition, it has been fully updated to incorporate recent case law and the latest legislation, such as the Modern Slavery Act 2015, the Brexit legislation, and changes in consumer, tax, and family law.
Martindale Lawyer Locator
Congress.gov
Cornell Law
More Resources
- Justia“Justia's mission is to advance the availability of legal resources for the benefit of society. We are especially focused on making primary legal materials and community resources free and easy to find on the Internet.”
- LegiScanMonitors current legislation in all 50 states and in the US Congress.
- Municode LibraryProvides codification and publishing services for over 4200 cities and counties in all 50 states. More than 3200 municipal codes are available for free in the Municode library.
- Ravel Law"We're collaborating with Harvard Law School to make American caselaw open and free. Ravel's cutting edge search and visualization allows researchers to find cases hidden by traditional tools.”