Health Careers Databases
Electronic versions of journal articles can be found within databases. These databases allow you to perform searches by subject terms, author, title, date of publication and other terms. Using these databases also ensure that you find scholarly, peer-reviewed sources that your instructors want you to use.
Here are some article databases that you may find useful:
- Health & Medicine Module - Proquest This link opens in a new windowSearch 520 periodicals on health subjects such as medical conditions, substance abuse, insurance, health policy.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - EbscoHost This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- PubMed"PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. "
US National Library of Medicine National Institutes of Health
- ScienceDirect - Elsevier This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic book and journal information.
Multi-Discipline Databases
Multi-discipline databases cover a wide variety of materials from different academic disciplines. These library databases have information for just about every topic. For a more in-depth database on your area of study see the A-Z Database List or ask a librarian.
- Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is the leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available. - ProQuest Research Library - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe database includes more than 3,700 titles—over 2,500 in full text—from 1972 forward.
- Gale in Context: College This link opens in a new window
Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events.
Can't find an article?
Having a difficult time finding an article? Here are a few tips:
- If you find too many results, try adding limits to your search. Try adding more terms to your search (e.g. "Type II Diabetes" instead of just "Diabetes") or limit by publication date.
- If you are not finding enough results, consider broadening your search. Try taking away search terms or making your terms more general. Also consider if there are synonyms or other ways to search for the same idea, but in a different way. For example, if you are looking for information on "recuperation" you might also try "rehabilitation," or other related terms.
Our librarians are happy to help if you cannot find what you are looking for.
Off Campus Access to Databases
To use ICC Library Databases off campus, please sign-in using your ICC username and password.
ICC usernames are the first part of your ICC email address, without the @lab.icc.edu part.
Passwords are ICC (all capital letters) and the last five digitals of your social security number.
If you do not know your login and password, please contact the Library's Reference Desk at 309-694-5355 and we will be more than happy to assist you.
ICC doesn't have it?
Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:
- I-ShareI-Share is an Illinois wide catalog for physical materials. Request books, DVDs, etc. from other colleges and universities throughout Illinois.
- How to Use I-ShareThis short tutorial will show you how to request books and other physical items from I-Share
Abstracts
Abstracts are not articles. You should never site an abstract. Abstracts are a summary of the article not the article itself. You need to click on the "full text" link to access the article. This full text may be html and/or pdf. If you have questions about accessing articles contact a librarian.
