Reference Resources
Use reference sources (like encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, almanacs, atlases, handbooks, etc.) as a way to gain background information on a topic. Reference sources provides factual information that can supplement your research. You can also use reference sources to help find additional sources for your research.
Many reference sources are considered tertiary resources so do not rely solely on them for academic research.
Below are a few of the reference sources in our catalog. Please browse the database links and the library catalog for more.
Reference Databases
- Credo Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowIt offers access to 200 reference books from 50 of the world's leading publishers.
- Encyclopedia Britannica OnlineIncluding Encyclopedia Britannica Online and Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus, this database contains over 73,000 articles. Encyclopedia Britannica is one of the most complete and accurate information sources in the world. It contains both short and book-length articles on every subject.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference offers over 175 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works.
Women's Health
The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2004This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2004Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.
Wellness
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2006Provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. Also includes nutrient composition data for foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
Key Concepts in Sport & Exercise Sciences by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2008Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science.
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs and Natural Supplements by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780323057417Publication Date: 2009-04-27Presents herb and supplement profiles in a convenient, A-Z format for fast reference.
The Royal Society of Medicine Health Encyclopedia by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2000Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease ranging from how the body functions to when to consult your GP to what type of drug you have been prescribed.
Medicine
Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2003An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.
The Royal Society of Medicine: Medicines by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2002A vital companion for all users of medicine, whether parents buying for babies and children, anyone wanting more information on a doctor's prescription, or those who need to find a remedy for occasional ailments. Contains up-to-date descriptions of prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2007Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.
Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology by Publication Date: 2000Comprises concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in toxicology. Coverage includes biochemical and environmental toxicology, chemical carcinogenesis, risk assessment and risk management as well as those aspects of analytical chemistry and molecular biology that are of importance in toxicology. The most important toxic chemicals are covered, in most cases with structures and CAS numbers.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2004Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
Key Concepts in Public Health by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2009Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.
Anatomy and Physiology
Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2009A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2002A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.
Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2009Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.
Medical Dictionaries
American Heritage Medical DictionaryCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2015A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.
Black's Medical Dictionary, 42nd Edition by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2010A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
Collins Dictionary of Medicine by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2005Contains entries on the theory and practice of medicine, including pharmacology, virology, psychiatry and dentistry. Also includes terminology relevant to nursing, radiography, orthoptics, laboratory and operating theatre technology, forensic and social medicine, and public health administration.
Dictionary of Medical Terms by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2000Includes terms from British and international medical practice covering fields such as surgery, general practice, hospitals, clinics, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry and other specialisms. Also includes informal terms of the kind used between professionals or professionals and patients.- Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary byCall Number: Ref R121 .D73Publication Date: 2007Comprehensive biomedical dictionary that reflects standard and current terminology derived from medicine and related disciplines. Includes images and audio pronunciations.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780323414197Publication Date: 2016-05-06A combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.
Webster's New World™ Medical Dictionary by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2008An invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options. Packed with information about diseases, treatments, and medicines. Includes appendices on vitamins and frequently used anatomical terms. Draws information from dozens of medical specialists ranging from pediatrics to pathology.
