While database content is generally deemed more reliable than open web content, there are some websites that provide primary and secondary sources that are unavailable elsewhere. Like any source please evaluate this content carefully before using it!
The National Archives is the U.S. Government’s collection of documents that records important events in American history. The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the Government agency that preserves and maintains these materials and makes them available for research.More than 95 percent of the records in the National Archives are declassified, meaning they are available to all researchers. Some of the oldest materials in the National Archives are on parchment and date back to the founding of the United States of America.
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, films and video, audio recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. Each working day the Library receives some 15,000 items and adds more than 10,000 items to its collections. The digital collection of the LOC showcases its highest interest items and is available to the public. Content in the library is not limited to government information; the collection represents the breadth of human history from ancient history to pop culture.
The World Factbook provides basic information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 258 world entities.
The CIA releases millions of pages of documents to the public each year. These resources range from declassified publications and reports to basic references, intelligence studies, and world maps.
The United Nations can take action on a wide variety of issues due to its unique international character and the powers vested in its Charter, which is considered an international treaty. As such, the UN Charter is an instrument of international law, and UN Member States are bound by it. The UN Charter codifies the major principles of international relations, from sovereign equality of States to the prohibition of the use of force in international relations.
"NATO is an alliance of countries from Europe and North America. It provides a unique link between these two continents, enabling them to consult and cooperate in the field of defence and security, and conduct multinational crisis-management operations together."
The U.S. Census Bureau’s mission is to serve as the nation’s leading provider of quality data about its people and economy. The Decennial Census is the once-a-decade population and housing count required by the U.S. Constitution. The Census Bureau counts all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The results of the decennial census determine the number of seats for each state in the U.S. House of Representatives and are used to draw congressional and state legislative districts and to distribute hundreds of billions of dollars in federal funds each year. There are also economic, state government, and local government censuses maintained by the Census Bureau.
The United States Government's open data site is designed to unleash the power of government open data to inform decisions by the public and policymakers, drive innovation and economic activity, achieve agency missions, and strengthen the foundation of an open and transparent government.
As per the Constitution, the U.S. House of Representatives makes and passes federal laws. The House is one of Congress’s two chambers (the other is the U.S. Senate), and part of the federal government’s legislative branch. The number of voting representatives in the House is fixed by law at no more than 435, proportionally representing the population of the 50 states.
In the United States Senate all states are represented equally. Regardless of size or population, each state has two senators, who serve six-year terms. Unlike the House of Representatives, where all members must stand for election every two years, only one-third of the Senate’s seats are filled with each general election. Longer, overlapping Senate terms provide Congress with stability and continuity, and lessen the immediate pressure of public opinion on members of the Senate.
The U.S. Department of the Interior protects and manages the Nation’s natural resources and cultural heritage; provides scientific and other information about those resources; and honors its trust responsibilities or special commitments to American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and affiliated Island Communities.
The National Park Service preserves the natural and cultural resources of the National Park System for the enjoyment, education, and inspiration of future generations.
The EPA develops and enforces regulations to implement laws passed by Congress, studies environmental issues, and educates the public about protecting the environment.
