ICC doesn't have it?
Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:
- I-ShareI-Share is an Illinois wide catalog for physical materials. Request books, DVDs, etc. from other colleges and universities throughout Illinois.
- How to Use I-ShareThis short tutorial will show you how to request books and other physical items from I-Share
Journal Databases
Electronic versions of journal articles can be found within databases. These databases allow you to perform searches by subject terms, author, title, date of publication, and other terms. Using these databases also ensures that you find scholarly, peer-reviewed sources that your instructors want you to use.
Here are some databases you may find useful when performing health-related research:
Health and Medicine Module by Proquest
Search 520 periodicals on health subjects such as medical conditions, substance abuse, insurance, health policy
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL is a comprehensive database that covers more than 760 journals. Many articles are available in full text. Those that are not available full-text can usually be requested through interlibrary loan.
Science Direct is a comprehensive database containing articles from all science disciplines, including medicine and health.
PubMed is free to access and contains indexed entries for thousands of articles. Not all of the articles are available for free, but some may be found in CINAHL, and others we may be able to order via interlibrary loan. This is a good place to look for the broadest amount of sources and for information about drug trials.
This is a more general database but it can be useful for finding journal and newspaper articles on broader topics. This can be especially useful to search for current events and trends.
Electronic Journals by Title
Below are direct links to some of the leading journals in the field of Respiratory Care. Check out the latest of editions or search within individual publications.
Respiratory Care ~ the official science journal of the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC). It is published monthly and has been in continuous publication since 1956. Articles in the journal pertain to disorders affecting the cardiorespiratory system and the equipment and devices developed in treating these disorders with an emphasis on improving patient care.
Canadian Journal of Respiratory Therapy ~ is published by the Canadian Society of Respiratory Therapists four times a year. It represents the interests of respiratory therapists internationally.
Expert Review of Respiratory Medicine ~ provides commentary from international leaders in the fields of obstructive, restrictive, vascular and infectious respiratory diseases, bimonthly.