ICC doesn't have it?
Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:
- I-ShareI-Share is an Illinois wide catalog for physical materials. Request books, DVDs, etc. from other colleges and universities throughout Illinois.
- How to Use I-ShareThis short tutorial will show you how to request books and other physical items from I-Share
Books About Dementia
Here are just a few books on dementia and Alzheimer's Disease available at the ICC Library.
Alzheimer's activities: hundreds of activities for men and women with Alzheimer's disease and related disorders by Call Number: RC523.2.F585 2001 Peoria LibraryISBN: 1877810800Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Alzheimer Disease Sourcebook by Call Number: RC523.2 .A45 2011 East Peoria LibraryISBN: 9780780811508Publication Date: 2011-07-01
The art of dementia care by Call Number: RC521 .V57 2008 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9781401899516Publication Date: c2008
Occupational therapy practice guidelines for adults with Alzheimer's disease and related disorders by Call Number: RC523 .S34 2010 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9781569003022Publication Date: c2010
Understanding Alzheimer's disease by Call Number: RC523.C885 1996 East Peoria LibraryISBN: 0878059105Publication Date: c1996
Journal Databases
Electronic versions of journal articles can be found within databases. These databases allow you to perform searches by subject terms, author, title, date of publication and other terms. Using these databases also ensure that you find scholarly, peer-reviewed sources that your instructors want you to use.
Here are some databases you may find useful when peforming health-related research:
Health Reference Center is a multi-source database providing access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals. This database is generally easy to search and should provide a good range of articles on a variety of health topics.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL is a comprehesive database that covers more that 760 journals. Many articles are available in full-text. Those that are not available full-text can usually be requested through interlibrary loan.
PubMed is free to access and contains indexed entries for thousands of articles. Not all of the articles are available for free, but some may be found in CINAHL, and others we may be able to order via interlibrary loan. This is a good place to look for the broadest amount of sources and for information about drug trials.
This is a more general database, but can be useful for finding journal and newspaper articles on broader topics. This can be especially useful to search for current events and trends.