On This Page
Services, Resources, and Associations
Accessible Libraries
Associations
Disability Etiquette and Language
General Services
Illinois and Peoria Specific Resources
Services, Resources, and Associations
These are a few of the national and state level services, resources, and associations available in the US and in Illinois. These services or associations may be disability specific but many are helpful for a wide range of individuals with various needs. Keep in mind that while this is not exhaustive! If you don't see a particular need or disability addressed here, try some internet searching or reach out to people in your community. In all likelihood, what you're looking for is out there somewhere.
Accessible Library Programs
Bookshare is a text-to-speech electronic voice read audiobook provider which operates through the department of education. It is free of charge for qualifying students. Those who do not fall under the qualifying umbrella can pay a membership fee to get access to the collection.
National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled (NLS)
The Library of Congress operates a national service to provide braille and recorded materials for people who cannot typically access print material. The Illinois state level program, the Talking Book and Braille Service, is hosted through the Illinois State Library. The Peoria Public Library provides local support for the service.
The NLS can provide physical talking and braille books, but there is also service for digital material. This service is the Braille and Audio Reading Download (BARD), which can be used via their app BARD Mobile.
For More Information
- Talking Book and Braille Service
- BARD Mobile
- Peoria Public Library Talking Books for the Blind and Physically Handicapped: (309) 497-2068
Associations
American Association for People with Disabilities (AAPD)
The AAPD is a national level disability rights organization which advocates for full civil rights for people with disabilities. Along with advocacy, the AAPD offers mentoring, internships, and fellowships.
American Council for the Blind (ACB)
The ACB provides advocacy at the state and national level for blind and visually impaired people. The ACB also supports scholarships, conferences, and various initiatives to connect and advance the creativity, talent, and resources for the blind and visually impaired.
Autistic Self Advocacy Network (ASAN)
ASAN is a network by and for Autistics. The organization focuses on education, community building, and developing self-advocacy skills as well as advocating for "a world in which autistic people enjoy equal access, rights, and opportunities."
Children and Adults with Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (CHADD)
CHADD is a national organization which focuses on outreach, advocacy, and community building for people with ADHD (ADHDers). CHADD has resources and educational materials for adults, professionals, educators, and parents, including resources in Spanish.
International Dyslexia Association (IDA)
The IDA is a nonprofit organization which focuses on charity, advocacy for people with Dyslexia, and teacher training and accreditation. In addition to this, the IDA also hosts conferences and workshops for families and educators and provides public education materials to help individuals and families better understand and advocate for themselves.
National Association of the Deaf (NAD)
NAD is "the nation’s premier civil rights organization of, by and for deaf and hard of hearing individuals in the United States of America" and represents the United States in the World Federation of the Deaf. The organization provides advocacy, internships, resources, and events for the Deaf, Hard of Hearing, and Hearing communities.
General
The ADA National Network is a network funded by the National Institute on Disability Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research. There are 10 regional centers which provide information and training on implementing the ADA.
ADA.gov is the official website of the U.S. Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division. This website provides information on the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), laws and regulations for government services, accommodations and design standards, as well as resources for topics covered under the ADA.
Administration for Community Living
The ACL is a governmental organization which advocates and provides resources to support both elders and people with disabilities live and participate fully in the homes and communities that they choose.
Disabilities: MedlinePlus // Discapacidades: MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is a part of the National Library of Medicine which focuses on bringing up to date and relevant health and wellness information to those who need it. This section of their website provides a wide range of resources and information focusing on people with disabilities and their health. It is available in both English and Spanish.
Disabled American Veterans (DAV)
DAV is an organization which offers free services and assistance to veterans and their families, outreach and advocacy, and volunteer opportunities for veterans and non-veterans to support the community.
Job Accommodation Network (JAN)
The Job Accommodation Network has resources for employers and individuals who need or are seeking to support accommodations in the workplace, but many suggestions and practices can be adapted for different settings.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
NIMH is the United States' leading federal agency for research on mental health and mental disorders. The website provides information on ongoing research, resources, and public education.
USAgov: Government and Local Disability Programs and Services
USAgov is a website dedicated to helping people find government information and services. This particular part of their website links to multiple programs and initiatives which aim to serve and support the people with disabilities and those around them.
Illinois Specific
Paws Giving Independence is a Peoria, IL based organization which provides training for service and companion dogs and matches them with adults and children with disabilities.
Illinois Deaf and Hard of Hearing Commission
The IDHHC is Illinois' executive state agency dedicated promoting understanding and awareness of legal legal requirements for communicating with D/deaf and Hard of Hearing people. It provides resources to support American Sign Language education and various interpretation methods and programs.
The Arc // The Arc of Illinois
The Arc and its associated state level chapters provides advocacy and initiatives for people with developmental and intellectual disabilities. This includes webinars, employment services, and a variety of other resources.
Language and Etiquette
Accessible Language: A Guide for Disability Etiquette
A brief guide from the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign which covers basic etiquette for interacting with people with disabilities.
Disability Language and Style Guide
From the National Center on Disability and Journalism at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, this language and style guide covers a wide range of terminology and how to use these terms appropriately. It also lays out guidelines for how to write and report about disability and/or people with disabilities.