Skip to Main Content
Library

American Sign Language and Deaf Culture

Resources for American Sign Language Classes and Interpreter Program

A banner with a background of the ASL alphabet and text which reads "American Sign Language Resources"

a small icon of a blue dictionary on a pink backgroundASL Dictionaries 

LifePrint (California Dialect)

LifePrint is the hosting website for ASL University, an online American Sign Language resource center created by Dr. Bill Vicars.  The site boasts a robust ASL dictionary and several resources for teaching and learning ASL. 

Signing Savvy (Michigan/Midwest Dialect)

Signing Savvy is an ASL teaching organization and resource covering signs, fingerspelling, numbers, and sentences.  In addition, the organization offers the services of two tutors covering general ASL and religious ASL in 30 minute sessions and publishes articles on ASL, Deaf culture and history, and updates on the organization itself. 

HandSpeak (California/East Coast Dialect)

HandSpeak offers an ASL dictionary and learning resource.  The site includes articles on Deaf culture, beginner and intermediate learning resources, signed literary arts, and information on baby signing, such as language acquisition information and resources on teaching babies and toddlers.  

 

A small icon of a pink dictionary on a white backgroundSpecialized Dictionaries

Texas Math Sign Language Dictionary (Texas School for the Deaf)

The Texas Math Sign Language Dictionary covers both ASL and SEE.  This dictionary is focused on math signing, covering K-12 topics.

ASL Specialized Dictionaries (Idaho Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf)

The Idaho Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf links to and hosts several resources for interpreters and learners.  Their selection of specialized dictionaries covers multiple fields from Architecture to Welding.

Legal Terminology Search Engine (National Consortium of Interpreter Education Centers)

An abridged dictionary of 300 common legal terms.  It is searchable and features video demonstrations of each signed word or phrase.  

 

a small icon of a young woman working on a computer while a young man points to at a computer screen that makes up the background. Study Tools

Integrated and Open Interpreter Education: The Open Educational Resource Reader and Workbook for Interpreters

This is a free to use resource which offers essays written by emerging scholars in the field and will be updated and revised as new material is added.  The materials of the resource are multimodal, which some being written in English and others recorded in ASL.  

LifePrint/ASLU Practice Tools

Dr. Bill Vicar's ASL University site LifePrint has several activities and programs for practicing using and understand sign language.  The ones linked here are for fingerspelling, numbers, and the ASL Training Center, which features self study courses and materials.

Fingerspelling Practice  |  Numbers Practice  |  ASL Training Videos