Skip to Main Content

Radiography Resources

ICC doesn't have it?

Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:

Journal Databases

Electronic versions of journal articles can be found within databases. These databases allow you to perform searches by subject terms, author, title, date of publication and other terms. Using these databases also ensure that you find scholarly, peer-reviewed sources that your instructors want you to use.

Here are some databases you may find useful when peforming health-related research:

Health Reference Center

Health Reference Center is a multi-source database providing access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals. This database is generally easy to search and should provide a good range of articles on a variety of health topics.  

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

CINAHL is a comprehesive database that covers more that 760 journals. Many articles are available in full-text. Those that are not available full-text can usually be requested through interlibrary loan.

Science Direct

Science Direct is a comprehensive database containing articles from all science disciplines, including medicine and health.  Search hint: Once you are in the database, click on the "Search" link at the top of the page.  On this search page you can limit the Subject to "Medicine & Dentistry."  This will narrow your search to only articles found in health-related journals (rather than all of the sciences!). 

PubMed Central

PubMed is a free full text database offered by the National Institutes of Health. This is a good place to look for the broadest amount of sources and for information about clinical trials. 

Academic Search Complete

This is a more general database, but can be useful for finding journal and newspaper articles on broader topics, events and trends.  It is also the only ICC library database that indexes the Journal of Surgical Radiology

 

Did you know you can access these electronic databases at home?

The only difference from using them in the library is that you will need to log in using your regular username and password; it's the same login ID and password you use to log on to any campus computer.  

If you've never logged in to an ICC computer before, you can find your login ID from ICC's homepage (click the "Find Login ID" link in the gray eServices box in the top center).  Your password will be "ICC" followed by the last 5 digits of your Social Security Number (so -- ICC#####).  You can also ask an ICC reference librarian for assistance using the "Ask ICC Library" chat boxes found on several pages of this LibGuide, or by calling (309) 999-4610. 

 

Radiography Books

Below you will find a selection of radiography titles available at the ICC Library. All of these books and more can be found at the Peoria Campus library:

Having Trouble Finding an Article?

Having a difficult time finding an article? Here are a few tips:

If you find too many results, try narrowing you search by:

Adding more terms, or using more precise terms

Example: ("digital radiography equipment" AND "radiation exposure")

versus just ("radiography equipment")

or (radiography and radiation)

Refining your search

 Try limiting your search by:

  • publication date
  • article type (reviews, case studies, editorials, etc.)
  • journal title

Note: the types of limits available typically vary in different databases

 

 If you are finding too few results, try broadening your search by:

Taking away keywords, or substituting more general terms

Example:

(radiography AND "ionizing radiation")

versus (tomography AND "ionizing radiation")

using the more general term "radiography" will give more results than looking for a specific subtype

Think about possible synonyms for your original search terms, or other terms you can use that will look for a similar concept. 

Examples:

(sonography OR "ultrasound imaging")

because authors may use either of these terms for the same topic, searching for both will turn up more results than either one alone

 

Then, of course, remember that our librarians are happy to help if you cannot find what you are looking for. Just stop by the reference desk, call, or enter your question in the "Ask ICC Library" chat box for assistance.