What is a database?
What is a Library database?
- A database is a virtual collection of information. This is where you will find articles.
- A library database will search many journal articles with your search terms.
- Library database information includes scholarly articles, meaning it is written by experts and reviewed by a board of experts.
- Each database offers a different set of collected information. Each library database you search will display different articles in your results.
- Access to most databases is through subscription meaning it is is not available on the open web. You will need to enter the database through the library's website. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to enter your ICC login.
Off Campus Access to Databases
To use ICC Library Databases off campus, please sign-in using your ICC username and password.
ICC usernames are the first part of your ICC email address, without the @lab.icc.edu part.
Passwords are ICC (all capital letters) and the last five digitals of your social security number.
If you do not know your login and password, please contact the Library's Reference Desk at 309-694-5355 and we will be more than happy to assist you.
Multi-Discipline Databases
Multi-discipline databases cover a wide variety of materials from different academic disciplines. These databases have information for just about every topic. For a more in-depth database on your area of study see the A-Z Database List or ask a librarian.
- Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is the leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available. - ProQuest Research Library - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe database includes more than 3,700 titles—over 2,500 in full text—from 1972 forward.
- Gale in Context: College This link opens in a new window
"Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as Search Assist and quick fact boxes."
Pro/Con Databases
These databases allow you to search for a topic and in many instances, it will provide articles that give both sides to the issue at hand. You will need to use your ICC Computer login and password to access the databases.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowNOTE: FOR OFF CAMPUS ACCESS, PLEASE SELECT "LOGIN WITH INSTITUTION" once you are in CQ researcher
A great source for the researchers that are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Gale This link opens in a new window
It is the premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on acclaimed series.
Steps to Reading a Scientific Article
Do not read scientific articles like a book (first word to last word).
The worst way to read a scholarly articles is front to back. Scholarly article reading is very different from leisure reading. Follow these steps to take the mystery out of article reading.
Types of Journal Articles
In general, scientific literature can be primary or secondary. Reports of original research form the “primary literature”, the “core” of scientific publications. These are the articles written to present findings on new scientific discoveries or describe earlier work to acknowledge it and place new findings in the proper perspective. “Secondary literature” includes review articles, books, editorials, practice guidelines, and other forms of publication in which original research information is reviewed.
Adapted from: Drs Sudha and Nageswara Rao Siddhartha. "Art of Reading a Journal Article." (2013).
Scientific Article Structure
Most scientific articles are organized as follows:
-
Title: Topic and information about the authors.
-
Abstract: Brief overview of the article.
-
Introduction: Background information and statement of the research hypothesis.
-
Methods: Details of how the study was conducted, procedures followed, instruments used and variables measured.
-
Results: All the data of the study along with figures, tables and/or graphs.
-
Discussion: The interpretation of the results and implications of the study.
-
References/Bibliography: Citations of sources from where the information was obtained.
Adapted from: Drs Sudha and Nageswara Rao Siddhartha. "Art of Reading a Journal Article." (2013).
How to Start Reading an Article
It is better to begin by identifying the conclusions of the study by reading the title and the abstract. If the article does not have an abstract, read the conclusions or the summary at the end of the article first. After reading the abstract or conclusions, if the reader deems it is interesting or useful, then the entire article can be read.
Adapted from: Drs Sudha and Nageswara Rao Siddhartha. "Art of Reading a Journal Article." (2013).
Questionnaire for Scientific Articles
Adapted from: Drs Sudha and Nageswara Rao Siddhartha. "Art of Reading a Journal Article." (2013).
Ask for assistance, if needed.
If you are having trouble understanding an article, ask for help from your instructor, your classmate, a tutor or a librarian.
Abstracts
Abstracts are not articles. You should never site an abstract. Abstracts are a summary of the article not the article itself. You need to click on the "full text" link to access the article. This full text may be html and/or pdf. If you have questions about accessing articles contact a librarian.
