Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:
Electronic versions of journal articles can be found within databases. These databases allow you to perform searches by subject terms, author, title, date of publication and other terms. Using these databases also ensures that you find scholarly, peer-reviewed sources that your instructors want you to use.
The Health Reference Center is a multi-source database that provides access to the full text of many nursing and allied health journals. Some journals in this database that may be of interest to you include: Annals of Clinical Microbiology and Anti-Microbials, BMC Clinical Pathology, AACC's Clinical Chemistry, Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine, Clinical Lab Products, Advances in Hematology, and many others. This database is a great place to start your research!
Covers over 500 periodicals on health subjects.
Science Direct is a comprehensive database covering academic journals from all disciplines of science, including medicine. Journals in this database that may be of interest to Clinical Lab Technician students include:The American Journal of Pathology, Clinical Microbiology Newsletter, Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, Journal of Laboratory and Clinical Medicine, and many others.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL is a comprehesive database that covers more that 760 journals. Many articles are available in full-text. Those that are not available full-text can usually be requested through interlibrary loan (please see a librarian for more information).
Compilation of information relative to the practice of nursing as well as linking to appropriate support materials in CINAHL. CLT students will find useful information on the drugs used in the treatment of diseases.
PubMed is free to access and contains indexed entries for thousands of articles. Not all of the articles are available for free, but some may be found in CINAHL, and others we may be able to order via interlibrary loan. This is a good place to look for the broadest amount of sources, and for information about drug trials.
This is a more general database, but can be useful for finding journal and newspaper articles on broader topics. This can be especially useful to search for current events and trends.
Note that while some of these are open-source, and the content is free to access, the articles are still written by professionals in the field and the journals are peer-reviewed:
MedLab Magazine has articles on microbiology, biochemistry and hematology and features interviews and breaking news in laboratory medicine.
Provides information on clinical laboratory services, including management and leadership skills.
Archives of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
The Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine is published monthly by the College of American Pathologists and includes up-to-date information about topics in laboratory medicine.
Blood is a weekly medical journal published by the American Association of Hematology. The website provides free access to pre-published articles, 5 published articles per month, and other valuable resources.
Hematology is a journal published annually by the American Society of Hematology. Includes articles about the latest trends and advances in hematology.
Viruses is an open access journal which provides an advanced forum for studies of viruses. It publishes reviews, regular research papers, communications, and short notes.
Having a difficult time finding an article? Here are a few tips:
Contact an ICC librarians if you cannot find what you are looking for; stop by or call.