Skip to Main Content

Nursing Program Resources

Can't find an article?

Having a difficult time finding an article? Here are a few tips:

  • If you find too many results, try adding limits to your search. Try adding more terms to your search (e.g. "Type II Diabetes" instead of just "Diabetes") or limit by publication date.

 

  • If you are not finding enough results, consider broadening your search. Try taking away search terms or making your terms more general. Also consider if there are synonyms or other ways to search for the same idea, but in a different way. For example, if you are looking for information on "recuperation" you might also try "rehabilitation," or other related terms.

Our librarians are happy to help if you cannot find what you are looking for. Just stop by the reference desk or call 309-999-4610 for assistance.

ICC doesn't have it?

Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:

Journal Databases

Electronic versions of journal articles can be found within databases. These databases allow you to perform searches by subject terms, author, title, date of publication and other terms. Using these databases also ensure that you find scholarly, peer-reviewed sources that your instructors want you to use.

Here are some article databases that you may find useful:

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

CINAHL is a comprehesive database that covers more that 760 journals. Many articles are available in full-text. Those that are not available full-text can usually be requested through interlibrary loan (please see a librarian for more information). This is a great place to start your search for journal articles!

Science Direct

Science Direct is a comprehensive database with coverage of journals from all the sciences, including medicine, health science, and biology. Search hint: Once you are in the database click on the "Search" link on the top of the page. On this search page you can limit the Subject to "Nursing and Health Professionals" to help narrow your search to articles found in nursing and health related journals.

Nursing Reference Center (eBook database)

The Nursing Reference Center is a source used in hospitals and other treatment settings. It contains a wide array of materials including information about diseases/conditions, skills and procedures papers, drug information, and evidence-based patient education sheets.

Health Reference Center

Health Reference Center is a multi-source database providing access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals. This database is very user-friendly!

PubMed

PubMed is free to access and contains indexed entries for thousands of articles. Not all of the articles are available for free, but some may be found in CINAHL, and others we may be able to order via interlibrary loan. This is a good place to look for the broadest amount of sources and for information about drug trials.

Academic OneFile

This is a more general database, but can be useful for finding journal and newspaper articles on broader topics. This can be especially useful to search for current events and trends.

 

CINAHL

CINAHL is possibly the most important database available to nursing students. Here you will find the RESEARCH ARTICLES you need. 

 

American Nursing Association Journal

Keep up to date with the latest developments in health and health care; from clinical and practical nursing topics, to helping with career progression, as well as providing the latest news from the ANA Enterprise and these Open Access Journals.

ANA

Nursing Journals - Electronic Subscription

Here is a list of some of our most popular Nursing trade journals available electronically. Click HERE to search all eight of the journals at one time. 

  • American Journal of Nursing
  • Home Healthcare Now
  • Home Healthcare Nurse
  • Nursing
  • Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!
  • Men in Nursing
  • Nursing Critical Care