Books
Journal articles typically present the most up-to-date information. However, books can be useful resources when you need more background information or would like a comprehensive overview on a topic. Remember that it is usually not necessary to read an entire book. Often a few chapters, a diagram, or an essay within a book can be very useful! Use the ICC Library On-Line Catalog to search for books by title, author, or keyword.
Occupational Therapy Framework
In the Spring of 2014 the American Occupational Therapy Association published the Occupational Therapy Framework: Domain and Process, 3rd Ed. This document leads all occupational therapy professionals in their work.
Pediatric Occupational Therapy
Best Practices for Occupational Therapy in Schools by Call Number: RJ53.O25 .B48 2013 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9781569003442Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Frames of Reference for Pediatric Occupational Therapy by Call Number: RJ53.O25 2020 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9781496395061Publication Date: 2019-01-04Frames of Reference for Pediatric Occupational Therapy, Fourth Edition , uses frames of reference (neuro-development, social participation, etc.) as effective blueprints for applying theory to pediatric OT practice. Updated with new chapters, case examples, and a new focus on evidence-based practice. This proven approach helps students understand the "why" of each frame of reference before moving on to the "how" of creating effective treatment programs to help pediatric clients lead richer, fuller lives.
Pediatric Skills for Occupational Therapy Assistants by Call Number: RJ53.O25 P435 2016 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9780323169349Publication Date: 2015-09-24Learn to provide effective therapy for children and adolescents with Pediatric Skills for Occupational Therapy Assistants, 4th Edition. This market-leading text offers a comprehensive, application-focused guide to pediatric occupational therapy assisting by incorporating the AOTA Practice Framework. The text's focused and easy-to-use approach to pediatrics covers everything from the scope of practice to in-depth coverage of normal development, pediatric health conditions, and treatment planning.
Occupational Therapy Books
Here are just a few Health-related titles available at the ICC Library. Please note that several of these titles are located at the Peoria Campus library:
Essentials of Assistive Technologies by Call Number: RM950 .C65 2012 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9780323075367Publication Date: 2011-12-19Based on the Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) model developed by Dr. Cook, the book provides the most important coverage of the devices, services, and practices that comprise assistive technology and focuses on the relationship between the human user and the assisted activity within specific contexts. Case studies, illustrations of assistive devices, review questions, and well-developed learning objectives help you focus on the most important areas of assistive technology application.
Kinesiology for occupational therapy by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781630914721Publication Date: 2019Kinesiology for Occupational Therapy, Third Edition covers the theoretical background for understanding the kinematics and kinetics of normal human physiological movement. Each specific joint is assessed in terms of musculoskeletal function, movements possible, and an overview of pathology that may develop. Dr. Melinda Rybski covers four occupational therapy theories related to functional motion that are important for occupational therapists to know.
Occupation-Based Activity Analysis by Call Number: RM735 .T46 2012 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9781556429460Publication Date: 2011-07-15Occupation-Based Activity Analysis by Heather Thomas instructs students to analyze activities using the domain components as outlined in the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process, 2nd Edition. This timely text guides the reader through understanding the process of activity analysis from the perspective of examining typical activity demands. Learning of key concepts is reinforced through case examples, worksheets, exercises, and sample analyses.
Physical Dysfunction Practice Skills for the Occupational Therapy Assistant by Call Number: RM735 .P46 2013 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9780323059091Publication Date: 2012-04-02Covering the scope, theory, and approaches to the practice of occupational therapy, Physical Dysfunction Practice Skills for the Occupational Therapy Assistant, 3rd Edition prepares you to care for adults who have physical disabilities. It takes a client-centered approach, following the latest OT Practice framework as it defines your role as an OTA in physical dysfunction practice. New to this edition is coverage of polytrauma, advances in prosthetics and assistive technologies, and assessment and interventions of traumatic brain injury problems related to cognitive and visual perception.
Reference Guide to the Occupational Therapy Code of Ethics 2015 by Call Number: RM735.4 .R43 2015 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9781569003756Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Using Occupational Therapy Models in Practice by Call Number: RM735 .T93 2011 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9780723434948Publication Date: 2010-11-15This book is a succinct and practical guide for students and practitioners applying occupational therapy models in the field. It provides an overview of the common models in practice and bridges the gap between theoretical texts on conceptual models and the immediate demands of practice. It describes occupational therapists' use of models within the realities of practice in a variety of contexts and takes the approach that practice models can be used as tools to guide clinical reasoning.
Information on Mental Health and OT
The On-Line AOTA practice guidelines have links to articles and other online information. Use the Academic One File database to access the AJOT articles on the page (various articles are member only).
Topics covered are:
Adults with Serious Mental Illness
Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias
Children's Mental Health
Mental Health and Occupational Therapy
Mental Health Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant by Call Number: RM735.3 .M475 2016 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9781617112508Publication Date: 2016-01-15Mental Health Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant guides the reader in how to analyze the service environment, including cultural, societal and political factors; explore the client's participation in age-appropriate, meaningful occupations; and, under supervision of the occupational therapist, provide treatment that includes 1:1 and group interventions.
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health by Call Number: RC487 .O252 2019 Peoria LibraryISBN: 9780803659162Publication Date: 2019-02-05Uses the Person-Environment-Occupation (PEO) model as a framework to promote the full participation in the lives of individuals with mental illness and those struggling with psychosocial issues related to their disabilities. Addresses co-occurring conditions such as depression, stroke, substance abuse and spinal cord injury, and attention deficit disorder and learning disabilities. Promotes best practices with "Evidence-Based Practice "boxes that synthesize significant research and implications for practice.
Autism and Enablement: Occupational Therapy Approaches to Promote Independence for Adults with Autism by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2017-11-21Adults with Autism Spectrum Conditions (ASC) or a suspected diagnosis often have hidden needs that go unmet by public services. This book describes and analyses the Kent ASC enablement approach, a short-term intervention led by occupational therapy to promote people with ASC becoming more self-aware and self-sufficient outside of public services. Designed to teach adults with ASC strategies for controlling their sensory, motor-processing and social-communication needs and preferences, this person-centred approach gives them greater self-management over their lives.
