Streaming Media Databases
Kanopy
Kanopy offers access to more than 30,000 documentaries, movies, and educational videos from thousands of producers such as Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber and more.
Films On Demand
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform, which features videos on a variety of subjects.
Academic Video Online
Is a comprehensive streaming media collection available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Library Resources As Course Materials
Licensed Ebooks, online magazines & journals, streaming media, and other online resources available through the ICC Library subscriptions are not considered open educational resources. These resources, while free to use by ICC students, faculty and staff do not contain the copyright permissions which allow for customization, re-use, remix, or redistribution in the same way open educational resources do. Although library online resources are not "open", they are resources you can make available at zero cost to your students. For a broader overview of how library resources as course materials differ from OER view the presentation from Open Oregon - Library Resources as Course Materials.
E-Books at the ICC Library
ICC Library Database Collections
- NewsBank-Access World News This link opens in a new windowA collection of National and International newspapers is available in full text.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowThe database is a cross-disciplinary resource. Topics include: agricultural economics; animal and veterinary sciences; aquaculture and fisheries; farming and farming systems; food and human nutrition; forestry; and plant sciences.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
IMPORTANT: This database will be removed from Illinois Central College on July 1 2024. Students and faculty will no longer have access to materials through Omnifile Full Text Mega after that date. - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Gale This link opens in a new window
It is the premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on acclaimed series. - Gale in Context: College This link opens in a new window
Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. - Global Issues in Context - Gale This link opens in a new window
Worldwide perspectives on global issues, current events, and topics in the news. - Testing & Education Reference Center: Career Collection This link opens in a new window
It has over 100 practice tests including AP, GED, ACT, SAT, TOFEL, GRE, GMAT, etc. and the information on over 4,000 accredited schools, can help you and enhance your score on a fundamental level to meet your goals.
ICC Library Reference Databases
- Credo Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowIt offers access to 200 reference books from 50 of the world's leading publishers.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference offers over 175 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works.
- Oxford Art Online - Oxford This link opens in a new windowGrove Art Online is today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art.
- Oxford Music Online - Oxford This link opens in a new windowIt is an indispensable guide for all music lovers and performers, both amateur and professional and contains 5,000 entries on composers, most of which include up-to-date work lists.